September 2021 marked the 100th anniversary of the Football League of Ireland, and ‘League of Ireland Seasons’ takes a look back at those first 100 years, taking in all of the key moments in the league’s history – from its beginnings as a Dublin-dominated league, to the early 1940s where Cork United won five leagues out of six; from Paddy Coad’s dynamic Shamrock Rovers team of the 1950s through to the emergence of a great Waterford team the following decade.

The league’s fall from grace (which saw it pushed from the centre of Irish society to the fringes) and the many attempts made since to arrest its slide; the best teams, the best players, the classic matches, not forgetting all of the great European nights that League of Ireland clubs have been involved in. This site tells the story of each season, and some great videos have been added into the mix. Photos will be added later, so keep checking back to see what’s new.